New York Bloodborne Pathogens Training Requirements for Tattoo Artists and Piercers
What are the body art bloodborne pathogens training requirements in New York State?
There are currently no state-wide bloodborne pathogens training requirements for New York body art practitioners. Statewide regulations for tattooing and body piercing are being developed by the NY State Department of Health under the authority of Public Health law 4A.
When these regulations are finalized, they will:
- Require tattoo and body piercing operators to obtain a permit to operate a tattoo or body piercing studio
- Require all tattoo artists and body piercers to obtain an individual permit to perform body art procedures
- Establish operating standards, fees, fines, and penalties for failure to abide by the regulations
Until the new regulations are in place, local regulations, if any, apply. Updates on New York State body art regulations can be found at https://www.health.ny.gov/community/body_art/
Even though New York State does not require bloodborne pathogens training for tattoo artists and piercers, some NY body art practitioners take our BBP courses because they want the specialized training or because they need a bloodborne pathogens certificate to do an out-of-state body art show.
What are the tattoo artist license requirements in New York City?
Any individual tattoo artist working in New York City is required to have a Tattoo License.
New York City has a specific process for tattoo artists to obtain a license:
- Before receiving a Tattoo License, all tattoo artists and permanent makeup artists must successfully complete the NYC Health Department’s Infection Control Course and pass the written examination. This course is similar to the body art bloodborne pathogens training that is required elsewhere.
- This four-hour Infection Control Course is conducted by the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene's Health Academy. The course costs $26 and is given twice a month at the Riverside Health Center, 160 W. 100th Street, 3rd Floor, New York, NY 10025. There is a Tattoo License fee of $100.
- All applicants who pass the written examination will then have their photo taken at the Health Academy. Applicants who do not pass the examination the first time will be allowed to immediately register for the next available course and examination at the Health Academy at no additional cost. Applicants who do not pass the examination after the second attempt will be required to register for another course and pay the Infection Control Course fee again.
- A Tattoo License will be mailed to the applicant 4-6 weeks after successful completion of the course. The applicant may not begin to work until the photo ID (badge) and license document have been received. Licensed tattoo artists should keep both items with them while working.
If you wish to obtain a New York City Tattoo License, contact the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene to make sure you are aware of the current requirements.
Do local jurisdictions in New York State have identical training requirements for getting a permit or license to work as a tattoo artist?
Each local jurisdiction can decide on what training, if any, is required.
New York City, for example, requires tattoo artists to take an infection control course.
Rockland County, however, requires tattoo artists to take courses in anatomy and skin diseases and to obtain certifications in bloodborne pathogens training, first aid, and CPR.
So, don’t assume that body art training requirements are the same throughout New York. There’re not.
Contact your local county or city health department for information on the current regulations in your area.
Last updated: August 18, 2022